The ASAIPA National Medical Awards (NMA) have been created as a prestigious platform of honour for independent private health practitioners within South Africa. This prestige event is hosted annually by ASAIPA and once again will be made possible by the generosity of dedicated sponsors. There are five practitioner associations participating in the NMA, each association nominating and selecting its own candidate(s) internally.

The In-Person NMA Gala Event will take place on 2 June 2023 at The Houghton Hotel in Johannesburg.


Play Video

At Cipla, we are not mere manufacturers of medication. What we make are memories. Memories that may not have been there to be remembered, had a life not been lived. We make people better and we save lives. That’s why we don’t have a strategy, we have a cause. We don’t have a vision statement, we have vision. Some call it human care, we call it ‘Caring For life’.


This prestigious award is given to an individual who has made, and continues to make, an outstanding contribution to improving health and healthcare for all South Africans. An individual who has given a productive lifetime of distinguished service to medicine.

Dr. Visser had an illustrious career as an IPA leader in South Africa.  He worked as a gynaecologist in Bloemfontein, and it was during this time that he became interested in the welfare of family practitioners in private practice.  He was CEO of Asaipa after starting the alliance with a few national leaders in 2006.  It soon grew to have 2000 members and had the biggest national footprint of all the IPA’s in South Africa.  He later co- formed the IPA Foundation with the SAMCC, ASAIPA, SPNet and CPC Qualicare and became its first CEO.  Dr. Visser was an innovative and industrious leader in the healthcare industry and was widely respected by all his peers and all key opinion leaders in South African healthcare.

Healthcare Leadership Award

This award recognizes organizations, groups or individuals, who exemplifies the qualities of dedicated leadership, to inspire impactful solutions within South Africa’s healthcare system that positively affect both patients and colleagues.

Health Science Student Award

This award is given to a Health Science student each year for exemplary dedication, commitment and leadership.

Community Service Award

This award is given to an organisation, group or individual dedicating their time, skill and expertise to assist community advancement by making a positive effect on the health and wellbeing of the community.

Digital Healthcare Innovation Award

This is awarded to pioneers, innovators and influencers advancing Digital Healthcare in South Africa.

HCP Excellence Award

This award recognises private practice practitioners  contributing significantly to improving Primary Health Care (PHC) delivery.

Young Doctors Merit Award

This award recognises final year students within South Africa who excelled in Academics, Leadership and their passion for serving in the community.

AWARD categories

NMA 2022 Award Winners

The Alliance of South Africa Independent Practitioners Associations (ASAIPA) is a National Network and Representative Organisation, representing the interest of 13 IPA’s, throughout South Africa.

Our purpose is to represent all primary healthcare practitioners in independent private practice to be part of a multi-disciplinary group and/or referral network of practitioners.

In ASAIPA independent practitioners form an alliance with other practitioners with similar interests in their area to mutually benefit from the union that they form locally and nationally.

Prof. Dion du Plessis_ASAIPA1

Prof. Dion du Plessis

Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Stephen Ramasuvha_ASAIPA1

Dr. Stephen Ramasuvha

Dr. George Aldrich_ASAIPA1

Dr. George Aldrich

Healthcare Leadership Award

Dr. Dulcy Rakumakoe

Dr. Haggis Black_ASAIPA1

Dr. Haggis Black

Dr. Mohammed Kaka_ASAIPA1

Dr. Mohammed Kaka



The Science of Movement and the application of exercise in rehabilitative treatment of performance.

Biokinetics’ primary function is to improve physical functioning and health care through exercise as a modality.

Biokinetics is the profession concerned with health promotion, the maintenance of physical abilities and final phase rehabilitation, by means of scientifically-based physical activity programme prescription.

Dr Nceba Mzimkulu Hene 1

Dr. Nceba Hene

HCP Excellence Award

Dr. Takalani Muluvhu and Dr. Aayesha Kholvadia

Health care Leadership award
Mari Leach1-1

Mari Leach

Tygerberg Biokinetics Pediatric Rheumatology Community Clinic_logo

TBPR Community Clinic

Community Service Award

The South African Association of Audiologists (SAAA) is an interest group originally formed by South African Audiologists in private practice, but since 2002, SAAA also represents and is supported by South African Audiologists employed in all fraternities.

The aim and purpose of SAAA is to develop and promote AUDIOLOGY to the public, medical and educational fraternities and other related healthcare professions. In the quest to promote audiology and in striving towards professional service excellence, SAAA actively liaises with statutory institutions e.g. HPCSA, medical aids, related professional associations / bodies etc.

Qaqamba Ndlela1

Qaqamba Ndlele

Community Service Award

The SA Optometric Association is a Professional Association registered as a Non-Profit Company (NPC) representing optometrists and dispensing opticians in South Africa. Membership of the SAOA encompasses all forms of practice modalities in the private sector including independent practice, group practice, and franchise models, as well as optometrists employed in the public sector, academia, and industry.

The main objective of the Association is to promote and protect the collective interests of its membership in good standing, and in so doing, promote the interests of the professions, generally, as well as the public.

Peter Brauer 1

Peter Brauer

HCP Excellence Award
Professor Khathutshelo Percy Mashige

Prof. Khathutshelo Percy Mashige

Healthcare Leadership Award
Faith Chabedi

Faith Chabedi

Community Service Award

Jevon Moodley

Health Science Student Award

The SASP is a voluntary professional membership organisation committed to equal opportunities and inclusivity, and striving to support the demographic profile of South Africa in terms of race and gender. The SASP is Non-Profit Organisation, and part of our mission is to assist Government with the social and development needs of the country (SARS, 2014). The SASP is also a Public Benefit Organisation. We therefore strive to use our funds responsibly and solely for their stated objectives, without any personal gain being enjoyed by any person including the founders and the fiduciaries (SARS, 2014).


Soweto Unit

Community Service Award

The Young Doctors Merit Award, awarded to the top final year Medical Students in South Africa.


Ruvasha Govender

Young Doctors Merit Award

Makabongwe Chido Kaseke

Young Doctors Merit Award