Play Video

Through the National Medical Awards(NMA), ASAIPA recognizes Primary Healthcare Practitioners who exemplify the highest values of volunteerism, community engagement, leadership, innovation and
dedication to their profession, community and patients.

Award Categories

NMA 2020 Is Proudly Sponsored by

At Cipla, we are not mere manufacturers of medication. What we make are memories. Memories that may not have been there to be remembered, had a life not been lived. We make people better and we save lives. That’s why we don’t have a strategy, we have a cause. We don’t have a vision statement, we have vision. Some call it human care, we call it ‘Caring For life’.


in partnership with the following Associations

Dr Norman Mabasa


Lifetime Achievement Award

This prestigious award is given to an individual who has made, and continues to make, an outstanding contribution to improving health and healthcare for all South Africans. An individual who has given a productive lifetime of distinguished service to medicine.

Dr. Mabasa is well regarded in the Healthcare profession, earning numerous accolades for his contribution to the Healthcare Sector.  In 2008 he received the Kaelo Award for outstanding Leadership. In 2010 he was awarded with the KZNMCC Award for outstanding service to the profession.  In 2011 he received the Department of Health Excellence Award for outstanding service to the profession over an extended period of time as well as the Human Rights, Law and Ethics Award awarded by SAMA. Dr. Mabasa was also awarded with the Dr. Lex Visser IPA-Foundation Memorial Award in 2017.

Primary HCP Excellence Award

This award recognises private practice practitioners contributing significantly to improving Primary Health Care(PHC) delivery.

Dr Ada-Mari Schoeman


Joanna Coetzee


Justin Jeffery


Mariet du Plooy


Digital Healthcare Innovation Award

This is awarded to pioneers, innovators and influencers advancing Digital Healthcare in South Africa.

Dr Unben Pillay


Daniel Donnelly


Robert Evans


Dr René Hornby



Special interest group of the SASP

Community Service Award

This award is given to an organisation, group or individual dedicating their time, skill and expertise to assist community advancement by making a positive effect on the health and wellbeing of the community.

Dr Andreas te Reh


Sakhile Nkosi


Lilanie De Jager


Amanda Thusi


Health Science Student Award

This award is given to a Health Science student each year for exemplary dedication, commitment and leadership.

Danyca Shadé Breedt


Tayla Jane Ross


Ruth Avierinos


Healthcare Leadership Award

This award recognises organisations, groups or individuals, who exemplifies the qualities of dedicated leadership, to inspire impactful solutions within South Africa's healthcare system that positively affect both patients and colleagues.

Dr Faruk Saloojee


Rachel Jane Leistra


Zola Dantile